How to homeschool in Oregon
In Oregon you send a one-time written notice to your local Education Service District (ESD) within 10 days of starting to homeschool, and again if you move to a new ESD. Your child takes an approved standardized test after grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 (by August 15). You only send the scores if the ESD asks for them. There are no required subjects, hours, or parent qualifications.
Requirements in Oregon
Home schooling (parent, guardian or private teacher) · ORS 339.030, 339.035; OAR 581-021-0026
A parent, legal guardian or private teacher teaches the child at home after notifying the local Education Service District. Testing at grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 is the main ongoing requirement.
- Notice
- Send to: your local Education Service District (ESD).
- When: within 10 days of withdrawing your child from school, or within 10 days of the start of the school year if starting then; within 10 days of moving to a new ESD.
- How often: once, plus again each time you move to a different ESD (or outside your school district boundary).
- How: written notice by email/electronic form or paper mail; the ESD must acknowledge it in writing.
- Instruction time
- Not specified.
- Records to keep
- Copy of your notice and the ESD's written acknowledgment.
- Test results for grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 (the ESD may request them).
- Testing / evaluation
- An approved nationally normed achievement test given by a qualified neutral tester (not related to the child) at grades 3, 5, 8 and 10, completed by August 15. Parent pays. First test is due at least 18 months after withdrawing from public school, or before the end of grade 3 if the child never attended school. A composite score below the 15th percentile triggers another test within a year, and continued decline can lead the ESD to require a licensed teacher's supervision or a return to school for up to 12 months.
- Parent qualifications
- None.
- Also
- Applies to children who are 6 by September 1 through age 18.
- Children with disabilities may be evaluated under an IEP or privately developed plan instead of the standard tests (OAR 581-021-0029).
What the notice must include
- Child's name and address.
- Parent's or guardian's name and address (phone and email optional).
- Child's birthdate.
- Name of the school the child attends or last attended, or, if never enrolled, the public school district where the child lives.
Checklist
- Send notice of homeschooling to your ESD: within 10 days of withdrawing or of the start of the school year.
- Notify your new ESD after a move: within 10 days of moving to a different ESD.
- Standardized test with a neutral approved tester: after grades 3, 5, 8 and 10, by August 15.
- Send test scores to the ESD: only if the ESD superintendent requests them.
Leaving a public school
Notify your local ESD in writing within 10 days of withdrawing your child from public or private school. Contact the ESD again if your child returns to school.
Common questions about homeschooling in Oregon
- Do I have to notify anyone to homeschool in Oregon?
- Yes. You send notice to your local Education Service District (ESD), within 10 days of withdrawing your child from school, or within 10 days of the start of the school year if starting then; within 10 days of moving to a new ESD. How often: once, plus again each time you move to a different ESD (or outside your school district boundary). Written notice by email/electronic form or paper mail; the ESD must acknowledge it in writing.
- What subjects do I have to teach in Oregon?
- Oregon doesn't set a required subject list. Most families still cover reading, writing, math, science and social studies.
- How many days or hours of homeschool does Oregon require?
- Not specified.
- Are standardized tests or evaluations required in Oregon?
- An approved nationally normed achievement test given by a qualified neutral tester (not related to the child) at grades 3, 5, 8 and 10, completed by August 15. Parent pays. First test is due at least 18 months after withdrawing from public school, or before the end of grade 3 if the child never attended school. A composite score below the 15th percentile triggers another test within a year, and continued decline can lead the ESD to require a licensed teacher's supervision or a return to school for up to 12 months.
- Do parents need a teaching certificate to homeschool in Oregon?
- None.
- What records should I keep when homeschooling in Oregon?
- Copy of your notice and the ESD's written acknowledgment; Test results for grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 (the ESD may request them).
Worth double-checking
- Each ESD has its own notification form or online system; use your ESD's version if it has one.
- HB 3624 (2025), which would have made ESDs provide and pay for the required tests, did not pass; parents still pay for testing.
- The approved test list is set by the State Board of Education; confirm the current list and tester list with ODE before booking a test.
Sources
- Oregon Revised Statutes chapter 339 (ORS 339.030, 339.035).(official)
- Oregon Department of Education: Home Schooling information for families.(official)
- Oregon Department of Education: Homeschooling FAQs (PDF).(official)
- Oregon Department of Education: ESD home school contacts (spreadsheet).(official)
- OAR 581-021-0026 (text via Oregon.public.law).
This is a plain-language summary to help you get organized, not legal advice. Laws and forms change, so confirm the details with your state or school district before you file.